Rutland–Melton International CiCLE Classic
East Midlands, England


The Rutland–Melton International CiCLE Classic is a road bicycle race that starts in Oakham and finishes in Melton Mowbray. The 2019 version will be 189 km long.

The 2018 edition of the CiCLE Classic cemented the race’s position as the premier and longest standing one day international race on the British calendar available to British competitors. Producing a surprize but very popular winner in Dan Fleeman of the Melton based Metaltec-Kuota Team. Dan has subsequently retired, but other former winners continue to go on to bigger and greater thing, most recently 2015 winner Steele von Hoff winning gold medal at the 2018 Commonwealth Games Road race.

What makes the race so attractive is its unique character and course; a blend of wide roads around Rutland Water, off-road sections and short, sharp climbs on narrow and treacherous farm tracks – taking its inspiration from the Paris–Roubaix and Tour of Flanders it is more reminiscent of those to be found in the Spring ‘classic races’ in northern France and Belgium.

To mark the 15th edition of the Rutland -Melton CiCLE Classic a new opening section of the race has been introduced. The changes are hoped to enhance the status of the race with the overall distance being increased to 198.5 kms, This then becomes very close to the 200 kms maximum prescribed for a race at this level by the Union Cycliste Internationale. Gone are the two laps of Rutland Water that have traditionally provided the opening challenge for riders in the race since 2005, and in is a rural ride through the picturesque Rutland villages of Burley-on-the-Hill, Ashwell and Teigh, before arriving at Wymondham, home of Race director Colin Clews.

Originally part of the British Premier Calendar, from 2008 it is a 1.2 event on the UCI Europe Tour.

The race was known as the East Midlands International CiCLE Classic in the years 2007–10 when its principal sponsor was the East Midlands Development Agency.

Race History

First edition:
14 (as of 2018)

First Winner

Scott Gamble (GBR)

Most Wins

Ian Wilkinson (GBR) - 2

Most Recent Winner 2018:

Gabriel Cullaigh (GBR)

Next race

Chestnut Homes Lincoln Grand Prix
East Midlands, England