Gran Premio Città di Lugano
Lugano, Switzerland


The Gran Premio Città di Lugano was known until 2011 as the Lugano Grand Prix is better known as the GP Lugano.

Hosted by the Velo Club Lugano which has an ancient and long tradition, founded in 1890 it organizes regional, national and international events.

Until 1979 the event was an individual time trial but from 1981 it started in its current road race format becoming part of the UCI Europe Tour in 2005 with a class of 1.HC

Being early in the season and in the Alps the race has more than once been cancelled due to snow.

The 185 kilometer route is raced over eight laps of a circuit on the scenic peninsular of Lac Lugano with each circuit climbing the Agra (539 meters).

The origins of the race can be traced back to first race organized by the Velo Club Lugano, the Bar Maxim Lugano Prize on March 21, 1937 on a 95 kilometer route and won by Fermo Redaelli but has no moved on to be the event we see today with the participation of international cyclists such as Sean Kelly, Rik Verbrugghe, Paolo Bettini, Ivan Basso and Damiano Cunego.

Race History

First Edition:



72 (As of 2018)

First Winner:

Josef Fuchs (CH) - 1981

Most Wins:

Marco Vitali (ITA) - 3

Most Recent Winner 2018:

Hermann Pernsteiner (AUT)

Next race

Tour de Wallonie - 5 days
Wallonie, Belgium